sjdixon

Web 2.0 & Your Own Learning and Development (Stephen Downes)

leave a comment »

I’m currently listening to a video recording by Stephen Downes titled “Web 2.0 and Your Own Learning“. Stephen mentions that we should blog about his talk… so here I am, taking his advice. I have long been interested in learning and for me personally, a fairly eclectic learning. I am very curious about many things, and I am continuously seeking information about these many things. The question I have though, is how effective is my learning. Stephen is speaking to how I might improve my own learning world.

What I am taking from this video, is that we should create our own centre of learning… to pull what it is we want into this space. I must admit, I read a lot from many different places and I rarely collect it in one place. It might be of use to bring all the subscriptions I have into one place. Stephen also talks about summarizing and commenting on what we read and learn. I have to agree with this. I know that in my experience when I teach something or paraphrase it, I have to think more deeply about it.

One important learning piece that Stephen speaks to is the use of unofficial sources. I have been doing this for a while now. I don’t even have television at home. I do access most of my news from unifficial sources and I believe I am better informed than many of my friends, family and colleagues. By “better informed” I mean with a more balanced view, as much as I do correct and detailed information approach.

So there we have it. The video is done and it was a worthwhile viewing. It will take some discipline, but I will work to take some of Stephen’s advice. I have placed the link in the text above, but you can find the video at http://www.downes.ca.

Happy learning!

Written by sjdixon

November 4, 2009 at 4:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

